RSS

Bared To You By Sylvia Day

17 Apr

Description:

Gideon Cross came into my life like lightning in the darkness…

bxp139892h

bxp139892h (Photo credit: myheimu)

He was beautiful and brilliant, jagged and white-hot. I was drawn to him as I’d never been to anything or anyone in my life. I craved his touch like a drug, even knowing it would weaken me. I was flawed and damaged, and he opened those cracks in me so easily…

Gideon knew. He had demons of his own. And we would become the mirrors that reflected each other’s most private wounds…and desires.The bonds of his love transformed me, even as i prayed that the torment of our pasts didn’t tear us apart…

Sandy’s Review:
Bared to you is the first book in the Crossfire Series, I have read it numerous times and it still gets my heart racing. I read this book right after 50 Shades Of Grey so it gave me the smut I was looking for.  Gideon Cross is the essence of everything that is sexy male; tall, dark hair, piercing blue eyes, muscular, rich, and determined.  Eva Tramell is everything you would expect Gideon to want in a female; Blonde, not too tall, athletic figure, grey eyes, socialite status, and doesn’t take shit from him.

Some of the issues I do have with the book is that everything happens with in the span of 2 or 3 weeks.  I know you can feel lust for someone in that time frame but love is questionable.  I do not believe that two people would see a couples counselor after 1 week together, it seems extreme.  They both have baggage they need to work on so they can trust each other but I don’t see that leap.  I also don’t see Eva telling Gideon she was raped as a child so soon in the relationship.

Other than the minor issue of instant love, I totally loved the book and its focus on abuse victims and how they can become survivors.  Eva is rational when it comes to what she can and cannot handle and what her triggers are that will make her spiral into bad places.  Gideon on the other hand is not dealing with his issues in a healthy way until Eva confronts him on it. I love that Eva has her roommate Cary for a sounding board and a reality check when she needs it. This book has A LOT of sex, trust issues, and insecurities between both of the main characters so be prepared to be frustrated in numerous ways. 🙂

Bared to You may seem to end a bit abruptly but everything will pick right up in the next book Reflected into You.

 
1 Comment

Posted by on April 17, 2013 in book reviews

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , ,

One response to “Bared To You By Sylvia Day

  1. bripaz099

    April 25, 2013 at 9:37 pm

    Sex is simple..Affection can be dangerous..And Love….that is trouble. Eva and Gideon cornered the market on trouble. They pushed and pulled as if it were a sport. It seemed like they didnt know the meaning of give and take. Unless it was him giving her the hard one. As a reader, I did like them, but they were exhausting.
    Eva is a Hot blonde who is very comfortable in her own sexuality and had no problems setting boundaries for him. I did love when she called him an asshat, it cracked me up. She is a bit obsessed with Gideon, like a school girl. I guess that plays into her trust issues and her need to tell him how she feels.
    Gideon is a tall dark and handsom man who is very rich and powerfull. So I wasnt very shocked to hear he had a few Skeltons in his closet. He does expect people to do what he says including Eva.Shortly after meeting her he comes right out and tells her he wants to fuck her, she was surprised but intrigued because he is so hot. As the story goes on, he does make adjustments because he wants her in his life.
    Overall, the story was good. Just like any relationship, communication is the key. Your partner has to know how you feel about everything before you can get mad at them for things that upset you. All new couples go through this, since they dont know each other well…I think they will be fine as they grow as a couple and learn how to talk to each other. I am looking forward to reading about their tremendous sex life, as it fulfills my voyeristic needs.

     

Leave a Reply

 
juliansherman.net/

Building A Business While Having A Life

Daily (w)rite

A DAILY RITUAL OF WRITING

Delighted By Life!

Share in my Journey Of "Delights"

H.N. Sieverding

Inside the mind of a fantasy writer

ellisnelson

children's author

MLNewman

Love Is Waiting Where You Least Expect It

Gabriel Lucatero

Official Site of a Hardly-known Writer

Ray Ferrer - Emotion on Canvas

** OFFICIAL Site of Artist Ray Ferrer **

Bookish Temptations

Bookish Temptations... Just Read. Feed your mind and open your heart.

silver wolf

Stories blog

Flux + Flow

a lifestyle blog by jasmine eclipse

The Jiggly Bits

...because life is funny.

West End

Publications Independent Consortium

MasterMind

MasterMind .. secret to the Law of Attraction. I did God's bidding by writing this book, But it was my hand that laboured on.

Chix with Styx

Making Ice Hockey Gear Friendly For Women

