RSS

Rule by Jay Crownover

23 Mar
Rule by Jay Crownover

Book Description:

I had loved Rule Archer since the first moment I ever laid eyes on him. He was everything I shouldn’t want and the only person I went out of my way to not try and please. He only saw me as a brat, and an entitled, stuck up princess but worse than that all he saw when he looked at me was his deceased twin’s girl. It broke my heart because as much as I had loved Remy Archer there was never anything romantic between us and no matter how hard I tried to convince myself that loving Rule was a terrible idea, my poor heart just wouldn’t listen. We tolerated each other, barely and had forged an uneasy alliance until one night I had too much to drink and changed the way we were forever. Suddenly life long secrets were no longer hidden and the one thing I always wanted for myself seemed obtainable as long as I was willing to go through hell to hold onto it.

Shaw Landon was a class act and I had no idea what to do with her. She was tied to my family, tied to the person that was my other half so I tolerated her and her haughty attitude when I didn’t have any other choice. What I didn’t know was that a short skirt and too many cocktails on her birthday was going to change my outlook on her for the rest of my life. Some people thought I hid behind all my tattoos and piercings, that I tried to distance myself from my dead twin, Shaw saw through it all and wasn’t scared of what was underneath. We weren’t supposed to be together, weren’t supposed to be anything but uncomfortable acquaintances but that all changed in the blink of an eye. Now I had to figure out just how a girl like her and a guy like me were supposed to be in love without destroying each other. Add in her custom made ex and two disapproving sets of parents and the whole situation sounded like it was more trouble then it was worth.

Sandy’s review:

I really like this book but the characters seemed so familiar. I have read similar stories over and over again; bad boy, good girl, they hate each other, they love each other… They have messed up childhoods that leave them emotionally screwed up.  I just found it very hard to believe that brothers that were so close did not know something so personal about their brother Remy. I also really did not get why Rule hated Shaw so much when they were younger, yes she spent time with his twin brother but is that really a reason to hate someone.  The parents of these characters were so off-putting; Rule’s parents seemed so loving to everyone but Rule and Shaw’s parents were more concerned about status than their daughters safety.

Shaw seemed like a girl that needed to wake up to the fact that she was an adult and could do what she wanted.  Yes, she wanted her parents approval but there’s more to life than living up to everyones expectations.  She was also very naive when it came to protecting herself, once Gabe started blowing up my phone a restraining order would have been put in place. I was happy that they finally got over themselves and decided what they wanted out of life was each other.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on March 23, 2013 in Uncategorized

 

Tags: , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
juliansherman.net/

Building A Business While Having A Life

Daily (w)rite

A DAILY RITUAL OF WRITING

Delighted By Life!

Share in my Journey Of "Delights"

H.N. Sieverding

Inside the mind of a fantasy writer

ellisnelson

children's author

MLNewman

Love Is Waiting Where You Least Expect It

Gabriel Lucatero

Official Site of a Hardly-known Writer

Ray Ferrer - Emotion on Canvas

** OFFICIAL Site of Artist Ray Ferrer **

Bookish Temptations

Bookish Temptations... Just Read. Feed your mind and open your heart.

silver wolf

Stories blog

Flux + Flow

a lifestyle blog by jasmine eclipse

The Jiggly Bits

...because life is funny.

West End

Publications Independent Consortium

MasterMind

MasterMind .. secret to the Law of Attraction. I did God's bidding by writing this book, But it was my hand that laboured on.

Chix with Styx

Making Ice Hockey Gear Friendly For Women

